State of California AIR RESOURCES BOARD

Resolution No. 09-46

April 23, 2009

WHEREAS, after six years of service as a member of the California Air Resources Board's Research Screening Committee, Dr. Robert Devlin submitted his resignation; and

WHEREAS, he was first appointed to the Research Screening Committee in January 2003 by the California Air Resources Board; and

WHEREAS, he has served the Committee, the Board, and the State of California faithfully and with distinction; and

WHEREAS, the scientific community continues to benefit from his years of dedicated research;

WHEREAS, he serves at the forefront in synthesizing human exposure and toxicological research needed to address important air quality issues;

WHEREAS, he has been instrumental in the success of the Board's health effects and exposure research programs; and

WHEREAS, the Board has truly benefited from his expertise in toxicology, molecular and cellular biology, and mechanisms of adverse health effects; and

WHEREAS, among his many distinguished achievements, he has received multiple awards from the United States Environmental Protection Agency for Scientific and Technological Achievement as well as for Commendable Service to protection of public health, and was recognized by the *American Journal of Respiratory, Cell, and Molecular Biology* for authoring one of the most highly cited articles ever published in the journal; and

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED the members of the Board do hereby express to Dr. Robert Devlin their sincere appreciation for his many years of service as a member of the Research Screening Committee of the California Air Resources Board; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution is transmitted to Dr. Robert Devlin as evidence of our appreciation.

Resolution adopted in Sacramento, California on April 23, 2009.

Mary D. Nichols, Chairman

Daniel Sperling, Member

Dorene D'Adamo, Member

Lydia H. Kennard, Member

Ronald O. Loveridge, Member

Sandra Berg, Member

Dr. John Balmes, Member

Dr. John Telles, Member

Barbara Riordan, Member

Ron Roberts, Member

Ken Yeager, Member