Other Areas of Mobile Source Enforcement
This page last reviewed January 22, 2013
On this page you will find descriptions of ARB Mobile Source Enforcement Programs which are not exclusively diesel programs. For more information about any of the following programs, please see the contact information for specific programs in the descriptions below. For more information about the enforcement of programs which are specifically diesel-related, please view the Diesel Enforcement web page.
After-market Catalysts on On-Board Diagnostics II (OBD II) Vehicles
The after-market industry started to introduce catalysts approved for some OBD II applications. However, these applications are still very limited, and the practice of installing illegal catalysts is still prevalent. The cost differential between a legal OEM catalyst and an illegal after-market part can often run into the hundreds of dollars. This creates a huge inequity for repair facilities that follow the law and use only legal replacement parts. Enforcement efforts are targeted at leveling the market for all repair facilities, and enforcement actions have been initiated against shops that install illegal catalysts. For more information please contact Dean Hermano at (626) 459-4487.
Idling school buses and other heavy-duty equipment are now restricted in order to protect the health of children. Children riding in and playing near school buses and other commercial motor vehicles are exposed to a disproportionate level of pollutants from these sources. This measure requires the driver of a school bus, transit bus or other commercial heavy-duty vehicle to minimize idling at schools. Additional idling restrictions are imposed for such vehicles stopping within 100 feet of a school. For more information, please contact Katerina Krichevsky at (916) 323-0164 or Hortencia Mora at (626) 350-6590.
Illegal Non-California Certified Vehicles
The primary focus of enforcement is to ensure that all new vehicles sold, offered for sale, or used in the state are certified for sale in California. Under California's regulations, a new vehicle (defined as a vehicle that has fewer than 7,500 odometer miles) which is not certified to California's standards may not be sold within or imported into the state. If such a vehicle enters California, a Notice of Violation (NOV) is issued. The NOV requires that the vehicle(s) be removed from California and that a civil penalty of up to $5,000 per vehicle as authorized under Health and Safety Code Section 43151 be assessed. See Wilmshurst vs. ARB for case law regarding this program. For more information please contact Barbara Crump at (626) 459-4327.
The ARB is responsible for preventing the illegal sale and use of Off-Highway Recreational Vehicles. This includes all-terrain vehicles (ATVs), dirt bikes, sand cars, off-road utility vehicles, off-road sport vehicles, and other off-road recreational vehicles which have greater than 25 horsepower. The OHRV regulations require all off-highway recreational vehicles sold in California, model year 1998 and later, to be certified by ARB. For more information please visit our Off-Road Recreational Vehicles web page. You may also contact Erin Blanton at (916) 323-8420.
The first emission controls for on-road motorcycles were adopted in 1975 when the Air Resource Board set emission standards for motorcycles manufactured for the 1978 model year. Since that time, on-road motorcycles, including custom built motorcycles, have been required to have ARB certification. Enforcement efforts continue to ensure that all on-road motorcycle manufacturers and dealers introduce and sell vehicles that meet California certification requirements. For more information, please visit our Motorcycle Certification Requirements web page or the Motorcycle Certification Enforcement Program web page. You may also contact Erin Blanton at (916) 323-8420.
The Air Resources Board's mobile source enforcement staff is responsible for enforcing illegal lawn mowers, trimmers, chainsaws, generators, small gas-powered scooters, and many other SORE products. Staff also provides support to the industry by assisting new manufacturers in the certification process. Enforcement efforts ensure that all manufacturers and dealers introduce and sell only products that meet California certification requirements. These efforts have expanded to include the rapidly emerging catalog and internet retail markets. For more information, please visit our Small Off-Road Engine and Equipment web page. You may also contact Gretchen Ratliff at (626) 450-6266.
The dirtiest vehicles found on our roadways contribute about 40 percent of total automotive pollution. A number of air districts, along with the ARB, have implemented programs so that anyone observing a smoking vehicle may report it. For more information, please email Katerina Krichevsky or telephone (916) 323-0164.
Tampering Detection Certification (TDC) Training & Enforcement
Vehicle Code section 27156 prohibits the tampering or removal of a motor vehicle pollution control device. ARB staff provide a POST certified training course to support law enforcement and other agencies that enforce the California Vehicle Code. The goal of the training is to educate peace officers on the basics of emission control devices and common types of tampering, identifying illegal aftermarket performance parts, and directing a cited vehicle to the Smog Check referee for a more thorough inspection and final proof of correction. For more information please contact Ken Helgren at (626) 575-6850.