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PROPOSED AIRBORNE TOXIC CONTROL MEASURE TO LIMIT
DIESEL-FUELED COMMERCIAL MOTOR VEHICLE IDLING

Adopt new section 2485 within Chapter 10 — Mobile Source Operational Controls,
Article 1 — Motor Vehicles, Division 3. Air Resources Board, title 13, California Code of
Regulations to read as follows:

Section 2485. Airborne Toxic Control Measure to Limit Diesel-Fueled Commercial
Motor Vehicle Idling.

€) Purpose. The purpose of this airborne toxic control measure is to reduce public
exposure to diesel particulate matter and other air contaminants by limiting the
idling of diesel-fueled commercial motor vehicles.

(b)  Applicability. This section applies to diesel-fueled commercial motor vehicles
with gross vehicular weight ratings of greater than 10,000 pounds that are or
must be licensed for operation on highways.

(c) Requirements.

(1) The driver of any vehicle subject to this section shall not idle the vehicle’s
primary diesel engine or operate a diesel-fueled auxiliary power system
(APS) for greater than 5.0 minutes at any location, except as noted in
Subsection (d); and

(2)  The owner of any vehicle subject to this section who installs or has
installed on that vehicle on or after the effective date of this section an
auxiliary power system (APS) powered in whole or in part by an internal
combustion engine, must, at time of installation, install or have installed an
APS that is certified to the more stringent of California or federal standards
for newly manufactured offroad or nonroad engines, respectively,
applicable on the date of installation.

(d) Exceptions.
Subsection (c) does not apply for the period or periods during which
(1) abusisidling for
(A)  upto 10.0 minutes prior to passenger boarding, or
(B) when passengers are onboard,;
(2) idling of the main engine or operating the diesel-fueled APS is necessary

to power a heater, air conditioner, or any ancillary equipment during
sleeping or resting in a sleeper berth before January 1, 2009. This
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©)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)
(8)

9)

(10)

provision does not apply when operating within 100 feet of a restricted
area;

idling when the vehicle must remain motionless due to traffic conditions,
an official traffic control device, or an official traffic control signal over
which the driver has no control, or at the direction of a peace officer;

idling when the vehicle is queuing that at all times is beyond 100 feet from
any restricted area;

idling when forced to remain motionless due to immediate adverse
weather conditions affecting the safe operation of the vehicle or due to
mechanical difficulties over which the driver has no control;

idling to verify that the vehicle is in safe operating condition as required by
law and that all equipment is in good working order, either as part of a
daily vehicle inspection or as otherwise needed, provided that such engine
idling is mandatory for such verification;

idling is mandatory for testing, servicing, repairing, or diagnostic purposes;

idling when providing a power source for equipment or operations, other

than transporting passengers or propulsion, which involve a power take off

or equivalent mechanism and is powered by the primary engine for:

(A) controlling cargo temperature, operating a lift, crane, pump, drill,
hoist, mixer, or other auxiliary equipment; or

(B)  providing mechanical extension to perform work functions for which
the vehicle was designed and where substitute alternate means to
idling are not reasonably available;

idling when operating defrosters, heaters, air conditioners, or other
equipment solely to prevent a safety or health emergency; and

idling by authorized emergency vehicles while in the course of providing
services for which the vehicle is designed,;

(e) Relationship to Other Law.

Nothing in this section allows idling in violation of other applicable law, including, but not

limited to:
(1)
()
(3)

California Vehicle Code Section 22515;
Title 13, Section 2480, California Code of Regulations;

California Health and Safety Code Section 40720; or



(f)

(9)

(h)

4) any applicable ordinance, rule, or requirement as stringent as, or more
stringent than, this section.

Enforcement. This section may be enforced by the Air Resources Board; peace
officers as defined in California Penal Code, title 3, chapter 4.5, Sections 830 et
seq. and their respective law enforcement agencies’ authorized representatives;
and air pollution control or air quality management districts.

Penalties. For violations of subsection (c), the driver (for (c)(1)) and owner (for
(c)(2)) of a subject vehicle is subject to a minimum civil penalty of 100 dollars and
to criminal penalties as specified in the Health and Safety Code and the Vehicle
Code.

Definitions.
The following definitions apply to this section:

(1)  “Authorized emergency vehicle” is as defined in Vehicle Code Section
165.

(2 “Auxiliary power system” or “APS” means any device that provides
electrical, mechanical, or thermal energy to the primary diesel engine,
truck cab, or sleeper berth as an alternative to idling the primary diesel
engine.

3) “Bus” means any vehicle defined in Title 13, California Code of
Regulations, Section 2480, subsections (h)(13)-(16), inclusive.

3) “Commercial Motor Vehicle” means any vehicle or combination of vehicles
defined in Vehicle Code Section 15210(b) and any other motor truck with
a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,001 pounds or more, except the
following:
(A) a zero emission vehicle; or
(B) a pickup truck as defined in Vehicle Code Section 471.

(4) “Driver” is as defined in Vehicle Code Section 305.
(6) "Gross vehicle weight rating"” is as defined in Vehicle Code Section 350.
@) “Highway” is as defined in Vehicle Code Section 360.

(8) “Idling” means the vehicle engine is running at any location while the
vehicle is stationary.



(9 "Motor truck” or "motortruck” means a motor vehicle designed, used, or
maintained primarily for the transportation of property.

(10) "Official traffic control device" is as defined in Vehicle Code Section 440.
(11) "Official traffic control signal” is as defined in Vehicle Code Section 445.
(12) Owner is as defined in Vehicle Code Section 460.

(13) “Primary diesel engine” means the diesel-fueled engine used for vehicle
propulsion.

(14) *“Queuing” means (A) through (C)

(A) theintermittent starting and stopping of a vehicle;

(B)  while the driver, in the normal course of doing business, is waiting
to perform work or a service; and

(C)  when shutting the vehicle engine off would impede the progress of
the queue and is not practicable.

(D)  Queuing does not include the time a driver may wait motionless in
line in anticipation of the start of a workday or opening of a location
where work or a service will be performed.

(15) “Restricted area” means any real property zoned for individual or
multifamily housing units that has one or more of such units on it.

(16) "Safety or health emergency” means:
(A) a sudden, urgent, or usually unforeseen, occurrence; or
(B) a foreseeable occurrence relative to a pre-disclosed
medical or physiological condition.

(17) “Sleeper berth” is as defined in Title 13, California Code of Regulations,
Section 1265.

(18) “Vehicle” is as defined in the Vehicle Code Section 670.

Authority Cited: Sections 39600, 39601, 39658, 39614 (b) (6) (A), 39667, 39674, 39675, 42400 et
seq., 42402 et seq., 42410, 43000.5 (d), 43013 (b), 43013 (h), 43018 (b), and 43018 (c), Health
and Safety Code; and Western Oil & Gas Assn. v. Orange County Air Pollution Control Dist.
(1975) [14 Cal.3d.411].

Reference: Sections 39002, 39003, 39027, 39500, 39600, 39650, 39655, 39656, 39657, 39658,
39659, 39662, 39665, 39674, 39675, 42400 et seq., 42402 et seq., 42403.5, 42410 Health and
Safety Code; Sections 305, 336, 350, 440, 445, 545, 546, 642, 680, 21400, 22452, 22515,
27153, 43018(e), Vehicle Code; and Sections 1201,1900, 1962, 2480, title13, California Code of
Regulations.



