Smoke Management Program: Current Regulations

This page last reviewed April 22, 2010

Smoke Management Guidelines

Smoke Management Guidelines for
Agricultural and Prescribed Burning
(with Table of Contents added
May 1, 2001) (March 14, 2001)

(MSW97 - 199K)
(PDF - 94K)
HTML Version
The Smoke Management Guidelines for Agricultural and Prescribed Burning (Guidelines) are the regulatory basis for California's Smoke Management Program. The Guidelines became effective on March 14, 2001, when they were filed with the Secretary of State.

History of Rulemaking

On February 4, 2000, the ARB released its Staff Report and Initial Statement of Reasons for Rulemaking entitled: "Proposed Amendments to California's Agricultural Burning Guidelines" (Proposed Amendments). The Staff Report can be viewed by clicking on one of the two format options: (MSWord97 - 452K) or (PDF - 215K)

On March 23, 2000, the Board held a public hearing to consider the Proposed Amendments. The Board also considered public comments received as a result of the 45-day public comment, testimony from witnesses at the hearing, and revised language that staff recommended to address issues raised during the 45-day public comment period. After hearing the public comments and deliberating the issues at the hearing, the Board approved the proposed revisions to the Guidelines with the additional modifications proposed by staff. The Board adopted Resolution 00-08, which can be viewed by clicking on: (MSW97-52K) or (PDF-19K)

On June 20, 2000, ARB staff released a 15-Day Notice of Public Availability of Modified Text (Modified Text) which included revisions to the Guidelines adopted by the Board. The Modified Text can be viewed by clicking on: (MSW97-35K) or (PDF-18K)

ARB staff developed a Final Statement of Reasons for Rulemaking (FSOR) and submitted it with the Rulemaking Package to the Office of Administrative Law (OAL) on February 1, 2001. The Guidelines were approved by the OAL and filed with the Secretary of State on March 14, 2001.

If you have questions regarding the Guidelines, you may contact Jill Glass by email at jglass@arb.ca.gov or by phone at (916) 322-6161.
Proposed Amendments to California's
Agricultural Burning Guidelines
(February 4, 2000)

(MSW97-452K)
(PDF-215K)
Board Resolution 00-08
(March 23, 2000)

(MSW97-52K)
(PDF-19K)
15-Day Notice of Public Availability
of Modified Text (June 20, 2000)

(MSW97-35K)
(PDF-18K)
SMP Rulemaking Package Filed
With Office of Administrative Law
(February 1, 2001)


Rice Straw Burning Regulations

Click on Rice Straw Burning Regulations to obtain regulatory information addressing rice straw burning in the Sacramento Valley of California.


preload