California Air Basin Map

This page last reviewed March 14 2014

California is divided geographically into air basins for the purpose of managing the air resources of the State on a regional basis. An air basin generally has similar meteorological and geographic conditions throughout. The State is currently divided into 15 air basins. The names of the basins are listed below on the state map or in the Air Basin Directory list. To view the 2012 estimated emissions for an air basin and the counties within the basin, click on the basin map or the basin list.

California Air Basin Map

California Air Basins and Counties   (Select Air Basin for Additional Information)
Great Basin Valleys Alpine, Inyo, Mono
Lake County Lake
Lake Tahoe El Dorado, Placer
Mojave Desert Kern, Los Angeles, San Bernardino, Riverside
Mountain Counties Amador, Calaveras, El Dorado, Mariposa, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sierra, Tuolumne
North Central Coast Monterey, San Benito, Santa Cruz
North Coast Del Norte, Humboldt, Mendocino, Sonoma, Trinity
Northeast Plateau Lassen, Modoc, Siskiyou
Sacramento Valley Butte, Colusa, Glenn, Placer, Sacramento, Shasta, Solano, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, Yuba
Salton Sea Imperial, Riverside
San Diego San Diego
San Francisco Bay Area Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Solano, Sonoma
San Joaquin Valley Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Merced, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tulare
South Central Coast San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura
South Coast Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino

Please send questions or comments to:

Local Air District Resource Directory
Other Maps on this Website