California Environmental Protection Agency
Air Resources Board



Advisory

SCHOOL BUS IDLING

Number 318

July 22, 2003 (Rev. 07/07/04)

LIMIT SCHOOL BUS IDLING AND IDLING AT SCHOOLS

The purpose of this advisory is to inform you that the California Air Resources Board (ARB) has established a statewide regulation to limit school bus idling and idling at schools, effective August 1, 2003. The following information will enable you to comply with the idling regulation and report violations.

School bus drivers and other drivers of pupils must turn off their engine upon arriving at or within 100 feet of a school, and restart the engine no more than 30 seconds before departing. Pupils' drivers also must not idle at any location beyond 100 feet of a school for more than 5 minutes.

Transit and delivery vehicle drivers must turn off their engine upon arriving at a school, and restart the engine no more than 30 seconds before departing. Transit and delivery vehicle drivers must not idle the engine at any location within 100 feet of a school for more than 5 minutes.

Motor carriers are required to educate drivers of the regulation and retain records of the education, complaints of non-compliance, enforcement actions, and remedies for at least three years and make these records available to enforcement personnel.

Any driver that does not comply with the regulation is subject to penalties under the Health and Safety or Vehicle Codes. While Air Toxics Control Measure (ATCM) violations are generally subject to maximum fines of \$10,000 per day penalties, the ARB expects this ATCM to be enforced on a scale similar to other traffic violations.

Some exemptions to this regulation include: idling while in the midst of traffic, to ascertain safe operating conditions of the bus or vehicle, for testing, service, repair, or diagnostic purposes, or to operate equipment needed by persons with disabilities and climate control devices for children with exceptional needs.

Should you have questions about the regulation or exemptions, require a copy of the regulation, or would like to report a violation, please contact ARB's Public Information Office at 1-800-END-SMOG. You may also view program information, the regulation, or to report a violation at www.arb.ca.gov/enf/enf.htm.