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State of California 
Air Resources Board 

 
UPDATED INFORMATIVE DIGEST 

 
AMENDMENTS TO THE REGULATION FOR THE HEAVY-DUTY VEHICLE SMOKE 
INSPECTION PROGRAM (IMPLEMENTATION OF ASSEMBLY BILL 1009, PAVLEY 
2004, CHAPTER 873) 

 
Sections Affected: Amendments to title 13, California Code of Regulations, 
sections 2180-2189: Heavy-Duty Smoke Emissions Test and Heavy-Duty Vehicle 
Emissions Control System Inspections.  
 
Background 
 
On September 29, 2004, Assembly Bill 1009 (AB1009) was signed into law, amending 
Health and Safety Code Section 43701.  The amendments require the Air Resources 
Board (ARB) to develop and implement, in consultation with the California Highway 
Patrol, regulations to ensure that heavy-duty commercial vehicles (HDCVs) operating in 
California are equipped with engines that, at the time of manufacture, met standards 
that were at least as stringent as emission standards promulgated by the United States 
Environmental Protection Agency (U.S. EPA).  In adopting AB 1009, the Legislature 
found that heavy-duty vehicles equipped with engines emitting greater levels of oxides 
of nitrogen (NOx) and particulate matter (PM) than those designed to meet standards 
adopted by the U. S. EPA contribute to higher levels of ozone and PM, and pose a 
threat to public health in California.  
 
In response to environmental concerns and public health impacts from the operation of 
in-use heavy-duty diesel-powered vehicles, the legislature in 1988 directed ARB to 
design and enforce a heavy-duty vehicle smoke enforcement program.  The regulations 
governing this program, the Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection Program (HDVIP), were 
adopted by ARB in 1990, and the program became operative in November 1991.  Under 
the HDVIP, in-use heavy-duty diesel and gasoline-powered trucks are tested for 
excessive smoke and are inspected for tampered emission control systems.  Intrastate, 
interstate, and international vehicles are all subject to these inspections that are 
conducted in cooperation with the California Highway Patrol (CHP) at CHP weigh 
stations and at random roadside locations.  Owners of vehicles failing prescribed test 
procedures are issued citations that require prompt vehicle repairs and carry civil 
penalties ranging from $300 to $1800 per violation.  The HDVIP program regulations 
were updated in December 1997, in order to incorporate new Society of Automotive 
Engineers (SAE) J1667 test procedures and other program protocols.  In 2004, the 
HDVIP regulations were amended to inspect and assess penalties for scan tool 
evaluation violations under title 13, CCR, section 2011.  
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Description of the Regulatory Action 
 
The ARB staff’s proposal applies to all 1977 and later model year diesel-powered 
HDCVs operating in California with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) greater than 
10,000 pounds.  Presently, under the HDVIP regulations, staff inspects vehicles for 
missing emission control labels (ECL) but has not been, in general, assessing penalties 
for missing ECLs.  Under the adopted amendments, ARB will require, one year after the 
amendments become effective, a mandatory penalty of $300 for a missing ECL.  If a 
citation is issued for a missing ECL within the first 12 months from the effective date of 
the regulations, the civil penalty would be waived provided the owner/operator, within 
45 days of the date of the citation, obtains a replacement ECL that is affixed to the 
engine by an authorized engine repair/service facility. After the first 12 months, an 
owner or operator will be excused from the $300 penalty only if he is able to present 
documentation at the time inspection that the vehicle’s engine is in compliance with the 
requirement that the engine met federal emission standards at the time of manufacture.   
 
The amendments require that ECLs be affixed to the engine so that ARB will be able to 
determine, pursuant to the mandate of AB 1009, whether the vehicle has been 
manufactured to meet at least U.S. certification standards.  For HDCVs with an affixed 
label, but which are not equipped with engines that met U.S. certification standards at 
the time of manufacture, the owner or operator of the vehicle will receive an additional 
citation, mandating a civil penalty of $500.   
 
It will be presumed at the time of inspection that an HDCV without a label affixed to it 
does not at least meet federal certification standards.  Therefore, the owner will be cited 
for both violations identified above.  However, the penalty for operating in California with 
a non-compliant engine would be waived provided the owner/operator, within 45 days of 
the date of the citation, obtains a replacement ECL that indicates the engine was in fact 
certified to meet at least U.S. EPA standards applicable at the time of manufacturer.    
ARB enforcement staff will cite HDCVs that do not meet the ECL and certification 
requirements each time they are found to be operating illegally in California.    
 
In addition to adding specific language regarding penalties under AB 1009, 
amendments to the civil penalty section set forth at section 2185 of the HDVIP are being 
proposed to provide additional clarity.  The staff determined that the incorporation of the 
proposal contained herein necessitated modifications to improve the overall flow of the 
regulatory text.  

Comparable Federal Regulations 
There are no comparable federal regulations at this time.  Federal regulations for heavy-
duty engines are limited to establishing emission standards for NOx, PM, hydrocarbons 
(HC), and carbon monoxide (CO).  The regulations also require that all new heavy-duty 
engines have an ECL affixed.  U.S. EPA’s authority to adopt emission standards for 
“new engines” is authorized under section 202(b) of the federal Clean Air Act.  While 
states are generally preempted from adopting their own emission standards for motor 
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vehicles, California has uniquely set its own emission standards under the preemption 
waiver provisions of section 209(b) of the Act.   
 
The proposed amended regulations apply to the operation of in-use vehicles in 
California.  This is authorized under CAA section 209(d), which provides that any state 
or political subdivision may control, regulate, or restrict the use, operation, or movement 
of registered or licensed motor vehicles.    


